Introduction: Overview of the California Child Abuse and Neglect Reporting Act

Welcome to the online Child Abuse Mandated Reporter Training for California. This introduction will provide a brief background on the prevalence of child abuse, the development of the Child Abuse and Neglect Reporting Act, and the definitions of child abuse in California.

The remainder of this training is divided into four lessons. Lesson 1 will take approximately 2 hours, and lessons 2-4 will take approximately 2 hours combined. As a general overview you will learn:

  • How the law defines child abuse and neglect
  • What the law requires of you as a mandated reporter
  • What protections the law provides for you as a mandated reporter
  • Definitions of some of the terms used in this program

Previous Page                                                     Next Page